Author |
Message |
Registered: March 14, 2007 | Posts: 223 |
| Posted: | | | | Hi, I was planning on asking for help on an HTML page I use for trailers, but after upgrading to IE7 and the newest Quicktime (not sure which cause the problem) I've now got an even bigger problem. I currently use the following: <HTML> <HEAD> <SCRIPT TYPE="text/javascript"> <!-- <DP NAME="HEADER_VARS" Language="JavaScript" Comments="True" IncludeCast="False" IncludeCrew="False"> //--> </SCRIPT> </HEAD> <BODY> <script> var Size=DP_Tags.length+1 var x=0; for (x=0; x<Size; x++) { if (DP_Tags[x]=="Trailer") { document.write ("<a href='M:/Trailers/<DP NAME="SORTTITLE">.mov'> Play '<DP NAME="TITLE" ShowDesc="false">' Trailer</a>") } } </script> </BODY> </HTML> I have a tag called Trailer. If that tag is checked, it creates a link to the quicktime files stored on my local drive based on the sort name. This worked up to a day ago. Now, if I click on the link to play the file. DVDProfiler crashes ("the program is not responding..." Quicktime movies work if played by themselves (opening from Quicktime) or embeded in a webpage (like at quicktime.com). Any ideas? My original question was going to be if anyone could tell me how to embed the files in the page, rather than having to click on the link to bring it up first. But now, I'd just like the page to work at all... Any help would be appreciated. |
|
Registered: March 18, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 6,461 |
| Posted: | | | | I'll let the mighty gurus in the Layouts Forum help with the hard stuff, but I did find a link that helps with the easy one (how to embed): here.Edit: I was able to get that to work except I could'nt get the upper left corner anchored properly - even after borrowing the positioning parameter from the WMP script. Hope somebody solves this. Now, on to VLC. | | | Thanks for your support. Free Plugins available here. Advanced plugins available here. Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog. | | | Last edited: by mediadogg |
|
Registered: March 14, 2007 | Posts: 223 |
| Posted: | | | | Thanks, I'll check out that link... In the mean time, a small correction: the program crash is not "The Program in not Responding" but rather, "DVD Profiler has encountered a problem and needs to close" (FYI, System Restore is apparently not an option, since my past three restore points all end up with "The system cannot be restored....") |
|
Registered: March 14, 2007 | Posts: 223 |
| Posted: | | | | Also, does this mean anything to anyone:
When I get the message that DVD Profiler has encountered a problem a needs to close, it want to send a report to Microsoft. If I link on the link to see what the report contains it says:
AppName: dvdpro.exe AppVer: 3.1.1.1171 ModName: quicktimeaudiosupport.qtx ModVer: 7.3.0.70 Offset: 0005e1f2
Just hoping someone knows what this means.... |
|
Registered: May 19, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 585 |
| Posted: | | | | What video card do you have? There's been a long time bug with nVidia cards/drivers that cause IE and Firefox to crash when attempting to playback embedded Quicktime movies. It's been going on since June or July and for whatever reason nVidia won't or can't fix it. Here's a detailed discussion about it. If you're not running an nVidia card then I don't what the problem is. I have this problem because of my card and have been waiting several months for nVidia to fix it. Not that it'll be any use, but here's my code for essentially doing the same thing. I think I grabbed bits and pieces of it from other threads and examples people posted. Quote: <HTML> <HEAD> <SCRIPT language=javascript> <DP NAME="HEADER_VARS" Language="JavaScript" Comments="False" IncludeCast="False" IncludeCrew="False"> </SCRIPT>
<SCRIPT language=javascript> window.onload = window_onload; function window_onload() { var i; myloop: for (i = 0; i < DP_Tags.length; i++) { switch (DP_Tags[i]) { case "Trailer": var UPC=("<DP NAME="UPC" Formatted="false">") idPlay.href = "C:\\Program Files\\DVD Profiler\\Trailers\\" + UPC + ".mov"; break myloop; } } if (i >= DP_Tags.length) { // Remove link if there is no trailer tag idPlay.removeNode(true); } } </SCRIPT> </HEAD> <BODY> <A id=idPlay href="#">Play Trailer</A> </BODY> </HTML>
In the mean time, I've been trying to figure out how to get the trailer to launch it's own QT player window instead since that seems to play just fine, but I haven't had any luck. | | | "Rules are for the obedience of fools and the guidance of wise men" - Douglas Bader "A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools." - Douglas Adams |
|
Registered: March 14, 2007 | Posts: 223 |
| Posted: | | | | My video card if from ATI (9200), so I guess that's not the problem.
I tried uninstalling Quicktime and installed QLite instead. Everything seems to be working fine now..
Next step I guess is to try out that link above and figure out how to embed them right off the bat, rather than having to clink on a link. |
|
Registered: May 22, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 1,033 |
| Posted: | | | | vega,
you may be able to launch the quicktime file directly using something along the lines of:
<a href='file:///C:/trailers/trailer.mov'>Trailer</a>
though i haven't tried it, and it may give you a save/open dialog
-Agrare |
|
Registered: March 18, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 6,461 |
| Posted: | | | | This works for me, except that the style parameter doesn't really seem to set the upper left anchor. I had to mess with size to make it look right. It will likely be different depending on the movie parameters unfortunately. Don't ask me why the duplicate parameters - I just cloned it directly from the Apple web site:
<HTML> <HEAD> <BODY> <SCRIPT TYPE="text/javascript"> <!-- <DP NAME="HEADER_VARS" Language="JavaScript" Comments="True" IncludeCast="False" IncludeCrew="False"> //--> </SCRIPT> <OBJECT CLASSID="clsid:02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B" CODEBASE="http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab" HEIGHT=280 WIDTH=350 style="position:absolute; left:0;top:0;" > <PARAM NAME="src" VALUE="C:\Program Files\QuickTime\sample.mov" > <EMBED SRC="C:\Program Files\QuickTime\sample.mov" HEIGHT=280 WIDTH=350 TYPE="video/quicktime" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/" /> </BODY> </HTML>
edit: fixed the display with smaller font | | | Thanks for your support. Free Plugins available here. Advanced plugins available here. Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog. | | | Last edited: by mediadogg |
|
Registered: March 14, 2007 | Posts: 223 |
| Posted: | | | | Hmmm....doesn't seem to work for me. I substituted C:\movies\mymovie.mov for M:\Trailers\abyss.mov (which I know exists because it works on my original page)
All I get is a faded Quicktime logo with a question mark in the middle.
I wonder if this is related to the crash I get when I install Quicktime 7.3? As I mentioned, I had to switch to QT Alternative to get my original page to work. Perhaps I should try to find a copy of 7.2... |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 3,436 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting stevegblair: Quote: All I get is a faded Quicktime logo with a question mark in the middle. Obviously I could be mistaken, but - I think the question mark means the file wasn't find - clicking on the question mark in some way shouldreveal more details about the error | | | Achim [諾亞信; Ya-Shin//Nuo], a German in Taiwan. Registered: May 29, 2000 (at InterVocative) |
|
Registered: March 14, 2007 | Posts: 223 |
| Posted: | | | | Quick update: tried the code on another machine and it works fine....albeit with Quicktime 7.0.3.
...I'll need to do some more testing on my desktop to figure out if Quicktime 7.3 is the real culprit.
Can anyone with Quicktime 7.3 confirm if this works on their machine?
And thanks for everyone's help so far, much appreciated... |
|
Registered: March 14, 2007 | Posts: 223 |
| Posted: | | | | Well, I'm stumped. I reinstalled QuickTime 7.2 and my original page now works (Hurray!) However, the embeded sample above posted my mediadogg does not work on my home machine...I still only get the Quicktime logo and question mark. The only change I made was to both references to the file C:\movies\mymovie.mov....I used C:\Program Files\QuickTime\sample.mov instead. Maybe I'll just quit while I'm...well, not ahead...but at least back where I started from |
|
Registered: March 18, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 6,461 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting stevegblair: Quote: Well, I'm stumped.
I reinstalled QuickTime 7.2 and my original page now works (Hurray!)
However, the embeded sample above posted my mediadogg does not work on my home machine...I still only get the Quicktime logo and question mark.
The only change I made was to both references to the file C:\movies\mymovie.mov....I used C:\Program Files\QuickTime\sample.mov instead.
Maybe I'll just quit while I'm...well, not ahead...but at least back where I started from Glad you got it resolved. The problem with my post might be the line breaks that got introduced when I hastily cut and pasted. Also, I added the style parameter from the WMP script. Main reason I made my post was that version plays the video without needing to click a link - I think somebody asked about that. I think I'll edit that post to fix the line breaks and take out the style parameter that doesn't seem to work for the QT control anyway. | | | Thanks for your support. Free Plugins available here. Advanced plugins available here. Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog. |
|